top of page

SOMETHING MISSING


Rosemary and Rue

Toby Daye Series

By Seanan McGuire

Paranormal

Mystery

I have to be honest, this story just didn't do it for me. I gave the whole book a read – well most of it, I skipped a chunk – and it really didn't work out for me. I was intrigued by the prologue and wanted to see how that part of the story resolved itself but I guess I must have skipped over it as it didn't really add anything further to the storyline except that it explained why October Daye was the way she was. And the way she was was angry at the whole world. She had no friends, no decent job and no life. I really didn't relate to her at all.

So the story starts out with her getting caught at doing her private investigation job and getting turned into a koi fish. Did I mention that the main characters are all fae or half bloods call changelings? Then 14 years later she is released from the powerful spell and her life is in ruins so she gets angry at the whole world, well both worlds really. She refuses to go see her king that she has sworn allegiance to (she was the first changeling to be knighted in over 100 years!!!) and she refuses to have anything further to do with all of her childhood friends who love her and want her to not hurt any more. Oh and she lost her human partner and little girl because they don't want to have anything to do with her because she vanished for 14 years and… I. Just. Don't. Get. That….

OK, so not the best faerie tale I've ever read. It was a good try at a kickarse heroine private investigation with crazy special faerie powers, but it really just turned into a bad arse scared little girl in a woman's body trying not to get killed while the people who killed her friend try to kill her.

*Sigh* Not really worth the read in my opinion.

2 stars out of 5. Am not going to read the rest of the series as there just isn't anything in it for me, at all.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page